Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees steers the Basler Afrika Bibliographien at the strategic level. It allocates resources to support additional institutions and awards scholarships and contributions to projects twice annually.


Balanced composition of expertise on the Board


When assembling the Board of Trustees, a concerted effort was made from the outset to bring knowledge of southern Africa and the work of the Basler Afrika Bibliographien together with expertise in archiving, library science, finance, law and academia. In accordance with the Foundation’s Statute, the founding family is represented on the Board of Trustees.

Board of Trustees


Jörg H. Schwarzenbach, president, since 1994

Dr. Veit Arlt, since 2011 

Esther Baur, since 2017

Dr. Martin Lenz, actuary, since 2008

Luccio Schlettwein, managing director, since 2010

Pierrette Schlettwein, since 2010


Former Board of Trustees members


Dr. h.c. Carl Schlettwein, 1994 - 2005

Dr. Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell, 1994 - 2010

Lorenz Homberger, 1994 - 1999

Dr. Oliver Wackernagel, 1994 - 2008

Prof. Dr. Meinhard Schuster, 1996 – 2011

Dr. Josef Zwicker, 2000 - 2017